Three Lasallians named National Merit Semifinalists

Charles Metzler-Gilbertz '21, Tim Crimmins '21, and Otso Barron '21 have been named semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

The three are in an elite group. Fewer than 1 percent of the more than 1.5 million juniors who entered the 2021 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test earned scores high enough in their respective states to be named semifinalists.

The seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million.
To become a finalist, the semifinalist and a high school official must submit a scholarship application, in which they provide information about the semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards.
The National Merit program also issued Letters of Commendation for Elliot Hansen ‘21, David Jensen ‘21, and Benjamin Scott-Lewis ‘21 for their scores on the test.
Published Print